FREE Delivery Over $85

$9.90 Standard Delivery Across Australia

Jan 4, 2021 | Nutrition

Get To Know Your Sea Vegetables

Seaweeds are the glimmering colourful water plants often found in the ocean, as well as rivers and lakes. Within the 10,000 types of seaweed identified, edible seaweed is a small selection of macroalgae growing along seashores that are nutritious and could be consumed as food by human. These lovely ocean vegetables could be classified into 3 main types, brown (Phaephyta), red (Rhodophyta), and green algae (Chlorophyta) by their colour.

Brown seaweed

Common types of edible brown algae include wakame, Atlantic wakame, kelp, and sea spaghetti. Brown algae is most known for its relatively high iodine content, while Kelp has the highest amount.

brown seaweed washed off the beach

Red seaweed

The common red algae that are consumed by human includes Nori (Porphyra umbilicalis), Dulse (Palmaria palmata), and Irish Moss (Chondrus crispus). Nori could be pressed into dried seaweed sheets and eaten as snacks or used in sushi rolls. Dulse is often considered the bacon of the sea due to its umami and smoky flavor.

red seaweed in the water

Green seaweed

A common edible green algae is sea lettuce (Ulva lactuca). Sea lettuce is the salad green of seaweed, it is light in flavour, and have outstanding nutritional benefits.

dried and wet green seaweed

Alg Seaweed’s trademarked Rainbow Seaweed contains seaweed from the green, brown and red seaweed family. Tasmanian wakame, winged kelp, Atlantic nori, dulse, and sea lettuce are the seaweed species that could be found in the blend, offering your dish essential nutrients, a unique umami flavour, and spectrum of colour. Find out more about the individual seaweed.

Written by: Sarah Leung